Submit a Frequently Asked Question
Send a descriptive email to
When a Victim is killed do you shift all the Victims forward to The Kill Spot?
-Yes. After a Victim is killed, the remaining Group of Victim Cards shifts forward so a Victim always resides in The Kill Spot, until there are none left to kill.
How many Maniac Cards can I play during my turn? Why is this optional?
– During a turn, you are allowed to play 1 Maniac Card from your hand. Then after you move in for the Kill, you have the option to play 1 Weapon and/or 1 Mask Card, from your hand.
Note: Playing a Maniac card is optional because there can be scenarios where the effect of the cards in your hand will not benefit your overall score. If this is the case, move to step 2 in Taking a Turn.
See Page 7 in The Maniac’s Handbook: Taking a Turn.
Example: If you only have Maniac cards that will force you to kill a Victim of lesser value than the Victim currently residing in The Kill Spot, then you do not have to play a Maniac card and can simply kill the Victim in The Kill Spot without playing a Maniac card.
Does a player kill a Victim during every turn?
-Yes. A Player always kills the Victim residing in The Kill Spot during their turn.
Is it possible to kill more than one Victim during a turn?
-Yes. Some Maniac cards and Plot Twist cards allow a player to kill more than one Victim during their turn.
How do you add up the score for Cheerleaders?
-Cheerleaders are worth (1) point each. However, they are worth (+1) point for each additional Cheerleader in your Collection.
For example: (3) Cheerleaders are worth a total of (9) points.
Here’s the math: (1+1+1) = 3; (1+1+1) = 3; (1+1+1) = 3
This adds up to a total of (9) points.
Here’s a quick scoring chart to assist your lazy ass:
(1) Cheerleader = 1 point
(2) Cheerleaders = 4 points
(3) Cheerleaders = 9 points
(4) Cheerleaders = 16 points
(5) Cheerleaders = 25 points
Football Players are scored exactly the same way.
How do you add up the score for Football Players?
-Football Players are worth (1) point each. However, they are worth (+1) point for each additional Football Player in your Collection.
For example: (2) Football Players are worth a total of (4) points.
Here’s the math: (1+1) = 2; (1+1) = 2
This adds up to a total of (4) points.
Here’s a quick scoring chart to assist your lazy ass:
(1) Football Player = 1 point
(2) Football Players = 4 points
(3) Football Players = 9 points
(4) Football Players = 16 points
(5) Football Players = 25 points
Cheerleaders are scored exactly the same way.
If the Final Girl survives Movie: Part 1 and/or Movie: Part 2, do you still need a Mask and Weapon to kill her in the next movie?
-Yes. Follow the Final Girl card instructions every time a player tries to kill her.
Do you deal more Maniac Cards to each player in between movies, so each player has 7 Maniac Cards?
-According to the official rules: No, you do not deal (refill) each players hand so they have 7 Maniac Cards at the beginning of each movie.
Some players have tried this as a variation, and enjoyed playing the game this way.
Feel free to make your own house rules as you see fit.
Note: There are strategic ways to play the game to avoid losing all of your Maniac Cards, or running low. However, it is possible to have fewer cards at times.
Plot Twist - Stuck Together: The next Victim in The Group tells me to draw a Plot Twist card. How does this work?
-If the Victim in The Kill Spot requires you to draw a Plot Twist card, and you draw Stuck Together, then immediately collect the next Victim in The Group and add it to your current kill.
Then draw the Plot Twist card for the second Victim immediately, and perform the action according to the Plot Twist Card.
If you draw a Nemesis, you have two options:
Plot Twist - Sloppy Seconds, Look Who’s Stalking, Highly Suspicious: How do these cards work?
-If you draw one of the following Plot Twist cards: Sloppy Seconds, Look Who’s Stalking, Highly Suspicious you should immediately perform the action for the Plot Twist. Then, simply add the newly acquired Victim Card, from an Opponent’s Collection, to your Collection and proceed to kill the initial victim from The Kill Spot.
In this case you do not perform the Victim Card’s instruction to draw a Plot Twist Card, as the Victim is already dead. Think of this scenario as “taking credit for a kill”, even though you did not initially kill the victim. You are grabbing the dead victim from an Opponent’s Collection.
Eww!!! Groty to the max!
While confronting the Final Girl: What happens if I draw the Fresh Meat Plot Twist Card? Does it stop the Final Girl stage to deal with them or are they dealt with afterwards before the movie is over?
-Yes, you would deal with them immediately. See below
Fresh Meat is a Plot Twist Card which instructs you to:
“Add 2 Victims from the Victim Deck to the end of The Group.”
If it is Movie: Part 1 or 2
Add the 2 Victims Cards directly to the Survivor Stack. Deal these victims into the next round of play at the beginning of Movie: Part 2 or 3.
If it is Movie: Part 3
Disregard the Fresh Meat card, as the game ends after Movie: Part 3.
While confronting the Final Girl: What happens if I draw a Plot Twist Nemesis and am unable to defeat the Nemesis?
-The Final Girl card moves directly to the Survivor Stack.
For Movie: Part 1 or Part 2
For the next movie, The Final Girl is the first card dealt to The Group, from the Survivor Stack.
For Movie: Part 3
The Nemesis prevents the Final Girl from being murdered by The Maniac and now the movie (and game) is over. Maniacs add up the points in their Collection.
While Confronting the Final Girl: What happens if nobody can kill the Final Girl?
For Movie: Part 1 and Part 2
If nobody can kill the Final Girl, move her to the Survivor Stack and deal her into the next movie, as she has survived to star in a sequel.
Yes, a player must always play a Weapon and Mask card to kill the Final Girl.
The Final Girl is designed to be more difficult to kill, hence her higher point value. If you cannot kill her at the beginning of the sequel, there’s a chance you will be able to kill her during the movie as player’s hands change with each turn played. Be a patient Maniac and try to plot and scheme a way to kill her.
For Movie: Part 3
If nobody can kill the Final Girl(s) at the end of Movie: Part 3, she survives death. (a happy ending)
The movie trilogy, and game ends immediately. Maniacs add up the points in their Collection.
What happens when you run out of Maniac Cards to draw from the Maniac Card Deck?
-This happens often, especially in 3 and 4 player games.
Simply shuffle the Maniac Discard Pile and place the shuffled cards into the Maniac Card Deck.
What happens if a player has no Maniac Cards left in their hand?
In a 2-Player game:
If a player completely runs out of Maniac Cards to play, then the Opponent automatically wins the game.
In a 3 or 4-Player game:
If a player completely runs out of Maniac Cards to play, then they lose and are out of the game. The remaining Opponents continue to play until the game is over.
If someone plays "Two Heads Are Better Than One" at the start of a round do they kill 2 or 3 victims during the turn?
-They would kill (2) Victims total. (1 additional Victim)
Then perform the action on the Plot Twist Card immediately.
Then perform the action on the Plot Twist Card immediately, from the first victim in The Kill Spot. Next, perform the action on the Plot Twist Card from next victim in The Group.
What if the Plot Twist Card is a Nemesis?
If you draw a Nemesis, you have two options:
Play a Defeat a Nemesis Maniac Card immediately to cancel the effect of the Nemesis. Then proceed to kill the two victims.
Move both victims to the Survivor Stack, as the Nemesis prevented them both from being murdered together.
What should we do if we do not like the way a certain rule plays?
-If the owner of the game wishes to alter the rules of the game for your enjoyment, then feel free to play with variations, or “House Rules”. It is possible this may affect the design for better or worse.
Do you kill a victim merely by defeating the Plot Twist or do you have to use a Weapon?
-During a turn, the Victim Card residing in The Kill Spot is always killed and added to your Collection, unless it is instructed to move to the Survivor Stack.
It is possible to alter the order of the victims in The Group, during your turn, via Maniac Cards. However, playing a Maniac Card during your turn is optional.
You are not required to use a Weapon or Mask Card to kill a victim in The Group, unless you are confronting a Final Girl.
Weapons and Masks give you more points and allow you to draw additional Maniac cards at the end of your turn. It can be wise to save Weapons and Masks for use later in the game.
What is the significance of the order of Victim Cards in The Group?
-The order of the Victim cards in The Group is very important, as the victim in The Kill Spot is always the card a player attempts to kill during their turn. After a victim is killed the remaining victims are always shuffled forward in order. Hence, there is always a victim residing in The Kill Spot, until all victims from a movie are killed.
When a victim is in The Kill Spot, and it is your turn, do you "kill" them, and just take them?
-Yes. During a turn, the Victim Card residing in The Kill Spot is always killed and added to your Collection, unless it is instructed to move to the Survivor Stack.
Do you need to play a Weapon Card to kill a victim?
-No. Playing Weapon and Mask Cards is always optional, unless you are killing the Final Girl. Weapon and Mask cards are used to add more points to your Collection, and enable you to draw additional Maniac Cards at the end of a turn.
Note: A weapon and mask must always be played to kill the Final Girl
How does "Defeat a Nemesis" work?
-When you draw a Plot Twist Card, you may encounter a Nemesis.
The Nemesis is a character in the movie that is able to prevent The Maniac from killing a victim, and sending the victim to the Survivor Stack. If you have a Defeat a Nemesis Maniac Card in your hand, then you have the option to play it immediately to kill the Nemesis, and proceed to kill the victim residing in The Kill Spot.
Think of the Nemesis as someone who challenges The Maniac during a horror movie, in order to save people from being killed. Sometimes they succeed, and other times they are killed by The Maniac.
I have Maniac Cards that I cannot use during my turn, what should I do?
-If you run into a scenario where you find your Maniac Cards to be useless during your turn, then you are allowed to discard 1 Maniac card and proceed to kill the victim residing in The Kill Spot. At the end of your turn, draw the same amount of Maniac cards played during your turn.
If another Player steals a Maniac card from your hand, is that card gone forever or do you draw a new card to replace it at the end of your next turn? (For example, do you play the rest of the game at a deficit of having one less card in your hand?)
No. According to the rules, you do not draw a new Maniac card if another Player steals one from your hand.
However, some people have reported playing with different rules to accommodate their playing preferences. Feel free to make house rules.
While playing a Maniac card with a moving action: Can you move the Final Girl (assuming she is not in The Group from surviving a previous movie)?
No. The Final Girl confrontation takes place after the first 12 (or more) Victims have been killed and/or added to the Survivor Stack. The Final Girl is not “in-play” until that time.
If the Final Girl survived a movie and is dealt back into the game for Movie: Part 2 or 3, then you can use Maniac cards to move the Final Girl card, unless specifically noted on the Maniac card.
What if the Final Girl is now part of The Group: Can you move her with Maniac Cards that simply refer to ‘Victim’?
Yes. Unless specifically noted on a Maniac card, the Final Girl who is dealt back into The Group from the Survivor Stack can be moved just like a typical Victim card.
Can I use the ‘Lets Split Up’ Maniac card, which refers to ‘Victims’ on the Final Girl (again, she is not in the Group)? Either collecting her or placing her in the Survivor stack or must both victims be part of the Group?
No. You cannot move or perform any actions on The Final Girl until it is time to ‘Confront The Final Girl’ at the end of a movie.
However, if the Final Girl has been dealt back into The Group from the Survivor Stack, then she is considered to be part of The Group and can affected by actions from Maniac cards, unless specifically noted otherwise.
While playing Fall Backwards: Can I move a Victim to a position after the Final Girl?
No. The Group consists of 12 or more Victim cards and should be considered as it’s own stage, before Confronting the Final Girl.
The only instance where you could move a Victim behind the Final Girl would be if a Final Girl card was dealt back into The Group from the Survivor Stack. At this point, the Final Girl is considered to be part of The Group as she survived a previous movie and is starring in a sequel.
If there is one Victim in The Group left plus the Final Girl, can I play ‘Two Heads are Better Than One’ to collect the last Victim and then the Final Girl (drawing Plot Twist cards as required)?
Yes. This is allowed.
If I draw the Plot Twist card ‘Stuck Together’ while killing the Final Girl: What happens? Do I collect the first Victim in the next movie, if I did play both a Mask & Weapon? What if I did not kill the Final Girl - do I still get a 2nd Victim from the next movie?
If I draw the Plot Twist card ‘Stuck Together’ while killing the Final Girl: What happens?
In this case, you would NOT collect an additional Victim as there are none left to kill for that movie. The effect of ‘Stuck Together’ becomes null.
Do I collect the first Victim in the next movie, if I did play both a Mask & Weapon?
No. You would not collect the first Victim from the next movie.
What if I did not kill the Final Girl – do I still get a 2nd Victim from the next movie?
If a Plot Twist card tells me to discard a card from my hand or my opponent’s play a card to take a Maniac card from my hand, I do not redraw for that Maniac card, correct? I can only redraw for cards that I play?
Yes. You can only draw new Maniac cards for cards that you have played.
However, some people have reported altering the drawing rules to better suit their playing preferences. Feel free to make your own house rules.
When a Maniac card says to put say a "Victim" in The Kill Spot, do you switch the places with the card thats already in The Kill Spot and then put the original Kill Spot card n the other Victim’s spot?
No, you do not switch places.
When you move any Victim card in The Group, the other Victim cards shuffle forward or backward to make room for the moved card. The Group is a collection of Victim cards that is able to be moved around and reordered.
With this in mind: When you put a Victim in The Kill Spot, you would shift the other cards backwards one space in The Group.
When the last Victim in The Group is killed, does the player that killed them deal with the Final Girl first or does the second player begin their turn Confronting The Final Girl?
Confronting The Final Girl always begins as new turn.
When a Maniac card tells me I can take a "Bimbo" Victim from another player’s Collection: Can I take a "Serial Slasher" Bimbo card or does it have to be just a regular Bimbo Victim card?
It would have to be a Bimbo Victim card.
*Note: The Serial Slasher cards are Maniac cards. Both Maniac and Victim cards can be added to your Collection. If there is ever any confusion about which cards are which, simply flip them over to see how they are labelled on the back.
At what point of a turn do you reposition the Victim cards after a kill? In the clean up?
Yes, you can shuffle the remaining Victim cards forward during the clean up.
Are you releasing expansions for YOU are the Maniac! and when?
Currently, there are no formal plans to release an expansion for YOU are the Maniac! However, it is possible and something we’d love to do. Ideas are being considered. What would you like to see happen with the game? let us know at: email@example.com
The third Final Girl was in play and I couldn’t deal with her, because I was lacking a mask. To prevent someone else to score I played "Get away from me!" to move her to the Survivor Stack and end the game. Is this move allowed?
Yes, this is allowed. It’s a Maniac eat Maniac world out there. 🙂 It’s a wise move to play defensively.
Is there a limit to the amount of cards in a player’s hand? If so, when you should discard?
No, there is no limit to the amount of cards a player can have in their hand.
Send a descriptive email to